Thermal Plants

thermal-plantIn Kerala there are main 3 thermal power plants namely Brahmapuram Power Station, Kozhikode Power Station and Kayamkulam Power Station. The most prestigious thermal power station of all the three is Kayamkulam Power Station which is a 350 MW power plant. It was opened by the former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee in the year 1999. This was initiated by National Thermal Power Corporation with an estimated cost of 1310crores.
Thermal power is the largest source of power in India. There are different types of Thermal power plants based on the fuel used to generate the steam such as coal, gas, diesel etc. About 75% of electricity consumed in India is generated by Thermal power plants.

Gas or Liquid Fuel Based Thermal Power Plants in Kerala

Rajiv Gandhi CCPP at Kayamkulam operated by NTPC and Kochi Combined Cycle Power Station in Kochi operated by BSES.

Diesel based Thermal Power plants in Kerala

Brahmapuram Diesel Power Station at Brahmapuram and Kozhikode Diesel Power Station, both operated by KSEB.

KSEB has a total installed capacity of 2229.6 MW including the Diesel power plants at Brahmapuram and Kozhikode. Kayamkulam thermal power plant has an installed capacity of 359.6 MW and BSES Kerala Power Ltd., Kochi has an installed capacity of 157 MW.