Transportation Thrissur

Thrissur district is well connected by roadways and railways. The major Railway Stations in Thrissur district are Mulloorkkara, Wadakancheri, Guruvayoor, Pudukad, Amala Nagar, Irinjalakuda, Punkunnam, Thrissur, Chalakudi, Nellayi, Vallathol Nagar, Divine Nagar and Ollur Railway Stations.

The total length of the PWD roads in Thrissur district as on 2003 is estimated to be 1586 kms. The National Highways in Thrissur district are NH 17 and NH 47. The State Highways through the district are SH 21, SH 22, SH 49, SH 50, SH 51, SH 58, SH 61, SH 62, SH 69, SH 75 and SH 76. There are both private and KSRTC buses operating in Thrissur which runs interstate and interdistrict services. The main bus stations in Thrissur district are Chalakudi, Guruvayoor, Kodungallur, Irinjalakuda and Thrissur Bus Stations.

Thrissur district does not have an airport and the nearest airports are the Cochin International Airport at a distance of 50 kms and the Karipur International Airport in Malappuram is at a distance of 80 kms.